Skip to main content

Move donation

Reassign a donation to a fundraiser, team, or another campaign

You can easily move donations around to ensure they’re credited to the appropriate fundraiser, team, or campaign. If a donor accidentally donated to the wrong campaign or forgot to credit their gift to a particular fundraiser or team, this feature allows you to change where the donation is credited.

Note: Not all donation types can be moved across campaigns. Learn more about restrictions when moving donations.

Steps

  1. Visit your campaign’s Dashboard.

  2. Under the Raise tab, search for the donor’s donation in the Donations table.

  3. Click on the three dot menu on their donation line item and select Move Donation. Alternatively, you can click on the donation record to pull up additional details about their gift and use the three dot menu to select Move Donation.

  4. In the pop-up that appears, you will see the available options for reassigning the donation. Select the destination you want to move the donation to, make any credit adjustments, and click Continue.

  5. Review the summary for accuracy and click Submit.

Note: The options you see when moving a donation will vary by campaign type and the type of donation you are moving. You will be able to review the changes you are making before submitting the adjustment. If a donation cannot be moved or if any data is at risk of being lost when moving the donation, you will see a notification.

Move Donation via the Donation Table

Move Donation via the Donation Record

Restrictions, Limitations, and Data Impact

Not all donations can be moved between fundraisers, teams, or campaigns.

The following donation types cannot be moved:

  • Pledges

  • Commitment charges

  • Recurring donations

  • Fund a Need donations

  • In-order donations (can be moved within a campaign, but not across campaigns)

When moving donations across campaigns, the following restrictions apply:

  • You can only move donations to campaigns within your organization

  • You must have admin access to a campaign in order to move a donation to it

  • You cannot move donations to campaigns marked as Done or Deleted

  • You cannot move donations to an imported campaign

  • You cannot move donations to Program pages

When moving donations, there may be an impact on additional data attached to the donation:

  • When moving a donation that has additional custom questions attached, the custom question responses will not move with the donation.

  • If the donation had a donation match applied, the match amount will not move with the donation

  • If source tracking data is applied to the donation, the source tracking data will move with the donation

  • If moving a donation away from a fundraiser or team causes them to fall below an Achievements threshold, the fundraiser or team will retain any milestones earned but any incentives earned will be flagged in red for your team to review

Note: Once a donation is moved across campaigns, you will not see any record or indication of the donation on the original campaign. Moved donations do not show a history of where they were previously credited within Pledge It. However, the donation record within Stripe (our payment processor) will retain metadata about the original location of the gift.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are fundraisers or teams notified if I reassign a donation to their team?

If the donation is reassigned to a fundraiser, the fundraiser receiving the donation will get an email notification that they have received a donation. If the donation is reassigned to a team, the team captain of the team receiving the donation will get an email notification. No notification is sent to teams or fundraisers if a donation is reassigned away from their page.

Is the donor notified if I reassign their donation?

No, the donor is not notified if their gift is reassigned.

Can I split a donation between two or more fundraisers?

There is not a way to split a donation that's already been made online, but what you can do is cancel that donation, then add offline donations for the split amount that you credit to each individual as needed.

Canceling a donation does not refund any money or notify the donor, but does remove the funds from your campaign's total and fundraiser/team pages, allowing you to add multiple offline donations that total the correct amount without over-inflating your campaign's total.

Did this answer your question?